Ninja Kid- Book 2

Flying Ninja by Anh Do

Nelson is a ninja. He’s not the coolest. Or the bravest. But he is the world’s nerdiest ninja! And now he has to stop an animal rampage and machines going crazy all over town! For that, he’ll need his new jetpack… and some serious ninja skills! How will Nelson learn to fly when he’s scared of heights?!

Ninja Kid #2 : Flying Ninja! - Anh Do   Ninja Kid #1

If you enjoyed “From Nerd to Ninja”,  the first book in this series, then why not give Book 2 a try?

For ages 7+


Action-packed Adventure


Image result for bear grylls

Bear Grylls, real name Edward Michael Grylls, is a British adventurer, television presenter and writer currently best known for his television series Born Survivor (Man vs. Wild in the U.S.). He has been called the “Most Extreme Human” to have ever lived.

Bear had a real hunger to explore from a young age. Always curious. Never still. Eager to discover new places and follow the path less trodden.

We have a series of books based on his extreme adventures for older readers in our library.


Image result for bear grylls series books overview

Ages 10+

Now we have a new series of Bear Grylls books especially for younger readers.


Image result for bear grylls adventures series books overview

Ages 7+


If you like action and adventure, then why not give one of these books a try?

Meredith Costain…………The Ella Diaries

WARNING: You are about to read my UTTERLY BIGGEST SECRETS. Can I trust you? OK then, I’m Ella, and this is my diary.

The Ella Diaries series explores the real issues girls face at school and home. Ella is resourceful, caring and real, and the writing is sharp and funny. Each book is its own diary, with great graphics and a little text on each page.

Suitable for ages 7-11 years.

Image result for ella diaries overview of the series

A mystery series by Sophie Cleverly

Publisher’s Synopsis: Ivy, I pray that it’s you reading this. And if you are, well, I suppose you’re the new me…

When shy Ivy’s troublemaking twin Scarlet vanishes from Rookwood boarding school, Ivy is invited to “take her place.” But when Ivy arrives, she discovers the school’s true intention; she has to pretend to be Scarlet. She must think like Scarlet, act like Scarlet, become Scarlet. What on earth happened to the real Scarlet, and why is the school trying to keep it a secret?

Luckily for Ivy, Scarlet isn’t about to disappear without a fight. She’s left pieces of her journal carefully hidden all over the school for Ivy to find. Ivy’s going to figure out what happened to Scarlet. She’s got to.

But the staff of Rookwood is always watching, and they’ll do anything to keep their secrets buried…

Ages 9-12 

Book 1 The Lost Twin.

Book 2 the Whispers in the Walls

Book 3 The Dance in the Dark

Book 4 The Lights under the Lake

Book 5 The Curse in the Candlelight


Image result for scarlet and ivy seriesImage result for scarlet and ivy series


World’s Worst Children 3… David Walliams

Prepare yourself… A brand new collection of horrifically hilarious stories about the absolute worst children EVER in THE WORLD’S WORST CHILDREN 3!

“I had so much fun writing these silly and surreal stories. I hope they will make my young readers laugh out loud.” David Walliams.


Could these children be even more horrid than those in Books 1 and 2 ? Read it and find out for yourself!


For ages 10+

Do you like reading about real people and hearing their stories?

Sharing inspiring stories from Australia’s past with the children who are our future!

A note from the author, Stephanie Owen Reeder

Image result for stephanie owen reeder

“In my award-winning Heritage Heroes series I retell true stories from Australia’s past featuring ordinary children and young people who have achieved amazing things against the odds. These are inspirational stories which delve into Australia’s history. Each stand-alone book in the series tells the story of a particular child, bringing their history to life in novel format, with information sections at the end of each chapter presenting extra historical detail.

The Heritage Heroes books are based on exhaustive research, and aim to provide children with an interesting and exciting entrée to the past, as well as a good read. Beautifully designed and lavishly illustrated, the books feature stunning images from the collections of the National Library of Australia, as well as an epilogue, a glossary and a list of background reading material. Four Heritage Heroes titles have been published so far, and I am currently working on the fifth, which is set in 1914 in the South Australian outback and will be available in 2019.”

Image result for stephanie owen reederImage result for amazing grace reederImage result for lost! reederImage result for marvellous miss may reeder

For ages 10+