CBCA What is it?


Image result for cbca

In 1946 the CBCA established annual book awards to promote books of high literary and artistic quality. These awards are now the most influential and highly respected in Australia.

Their aim is to promote quality Australian literature for children.

This year, judges considered 444 books from a variety of Australian authors and illustrators.

The categories are:

CBCA Book of the Year : Older Readers

CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers    

CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood

CBCA Book of the Year: Picture Book of the Year.                                

CBCA Book of the Year : The Eve Pownall Award                                      


Over the next week, I will share the books that made the Shortlist this year in each category.

The winners will be announced on Friday 17th August.

There will also be an award for new illustrators called “The Crichton Award” announced at this time.

Children’s Book Council of Australia- Shortlisted Books 2017

The Children’s Book Council of Australia is a not for profit organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards for books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children’s literature.

Over the coming weeks, I will post information about the books that made the CBC Shortlist this year .