The hunt has begun!


Don’t forget to come to the library any morning or lunch time this week and see how many gold coins you can find!

Ask a teacher for an entry form, write your name and class and the number of coins you counted.

Place your answer in the Treasure Chest at the Service Desk.

Any correct answers will go into a draw for a free book at The Book Fair when it arrives on Wednesday of Week 1 next term!

Get searching and counting!

Find Your Treasure….in the Library !

Come to the library next week ( Week 9) and go on a Treasure Hunt!

Yes, that’s right, see how many gold coins you can see around the library ( all at ceiling height).

Ask one of the library teachers for an entry form, count the coins, write your answer and place it in the Treasure Chest at the Service Desk.

Someone who counts the coins correctly will receive a voucher to choose a free book at The Book Fair in Week 1 next term.

Get counting!

Some great new additions to our Biographies collection.

You can learn so much from hearing how people have overcome hardships and obstacles in their lives.

We have some really interesting and inspiring Biographies and Autobiographies in our library.

Here are just a few new additions to the great selection of inspiring true stories we have :

I’m No Angel: From Victoria’s Secret Model to Role Model by Kylie Bisutti

In December 2011, 21-year-old Victoria’s Secret Runway Angel Kylie Bisutti stunned the fashion industry when she chose faith over fame and fortune and made the switch from supermodel to role model.

In I’m No Angel, Kylie shares her story―from her early years as she struggled to make it big in the cutthroat world of modeling, to her “big break” winning the Victoria’s Secret Runway Angel competition, to the disillusionment and spiritual warfare that followed. After finally realizing that she could no longer reconcile her career with her Christian beliefs, she surrendered her life to God and dedicated her life to preaching a message of modesty and inner beauty.

High five to the boys : a celebration of ace Australian men

Summary: Let’s cheer for the men who have done amazing things in Australia’s history and for our future! Australia has some seriously ace men who have broken new ground, stood up for what they believed in, achieved incredible things and defied stereotypes. You’ll find some of those men inside the pages of this book – from astronaut Andy Thomas to YouTube maths teacher Eddie Woo, sportsman Johnathan Thurston and dancer David McAllister. Whether they end up being role models for girls or boys, it doesn’t matter, because they’re ace regardless!

Shout out to the girls : a celebration of awesome Australian women

Summary: Let’s hear it for the Australian women who have shaped our history and are expanding our future! Shout-outs to 50 awesome Australian women with easy-to-read biographies of their incredible achievements. From Cathy Freeman to Turia Pitt, Edith Cowan to Julia Gillard, Mum Shirl to Vali Myers, plus rally car drivers, molecular biologists and more, this book is a celebration of women in all fields, from all walks of life, and from Australia’s past and present.

Free as a bird : The story of Malala

When Malala Yousafzai was born in Pakistan, people said girls were bad luck and should not be educated. But she and her father were not afraid. She secretly went to school and spoke up for education in her country. even though an enemy tried to silence her voice, she went on to travel around the world to speak to girls and boys, teachers, reporters, presidents and queens – anyone who would listen. so everyone could be as free as a bird.

Action-packed Adventure


Image result for bear grylls

Bear Grylls, real name Edward Michael Grylls, is a British adventurer, television presenter and writer currently best known for his television series Born Survivor (Man vs. Wild in the U.S.). He has been called the “Most Extreme Human” to have ever lived.

Bear had a real hunger to explore from a young age. Always curious. Never still. Eager to discover new places and follow the path less trodden.

We have a series of books based on his extreme adventures for older readers in our library.


Image result for bear grylls series books overview

Ages 10+

Now we have a new series of Bear Grylls books especially for younger readers.


Image result for bear grylls adventures series books overview

Ages 7+


If you like action and adventure, then why not give one of these books a try?

Meredith Costain…………The Ella Diaries

WARNING: You are about to read my UTTERLY BIGGEST SECRETS. Can I trust you? OK then, I’m Ella, and this is my diary.

The Ella Diaries series explores the real issues girls face at school and home. Ella is resourceful, caring and real, and the writing is sharp and funny. Each book is its own diary, with great graphics and a little text on each page.

Suitable for ages 7-11 years.

Image result for ella diaries overview of the series

A mystery series by Sophie Cleverly

Publisher’s Synopsis: Ivy, I pray that it’s you reading this. And if you are, well, I suppose you’re the new me…

When shy Ivy’s troublemaking twin Scarlet vanishes from Rookwood boarding school, Ivy is invited to “take her place.” But when Ivy arrives, she discovers the school’s true intention; she has to pretend to be Scarlet. She must think like Scarlet, act like Scarlet, become Scarlet. What on earth happened to the real Scarlet, and why is the school trying to keep it a secret?

Luckily for Ivy, Scarlet isn’t about to disappear without a fight. She’s left pieces of her journal carefully hidden all over the school for Ivy to find. Ivy’s going to figure out what happened to Scarlet. She’s got to.

But the staff of Rookwood is always watching, and they’ll do anything to keep their secrets buried…

Ages 9-12 

Book 1 The Lost Twin.

Book 2 the Whispers in the Walls

Book 3 The Dance in the Dark

Book 4 The Lights under the Lake

Book 5 The Curse in the Candlelight


Image result for scarlet and ivy seriesImage result for scarlet and ivy series


A new series emerges from a much loved favourite

“The Royal Ranger” was the 12th and final novel in The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan.

This year, it was renamed “A New Beginning” and became the first book  in The Ranger’s Apprentice sequel series :

“Ranger’s Apprentice- The Royal Ranger”

Book 2 “The Red Fox Clan” is the second book in this new series and both books are available in our library.

The Royal Ranger, A New Beginning.jpgRanger's Apprentice The Royal Ranger 2: The Red Fox Clan

For ages 10 +