Google Team Drives


Google has recently added team drives to the G Suite within Google Drive.

Team drives are collaborative spaces that allow users to easily share and collaborate on files or folders. Unlike normal Google Drive folders the team owns the files rather than a single user. When new people join the team they automatically have access the all files and folders within the team drive.

Why use team drives?

  • Team Files are organised in one easy location instead of across multiple shared folders.
  • Files are owned by team- if the creator or owner leave the files remain with the team drive
  • Simpler sharing permissions

Create a Team Drive

Anyone in WCCS can create a Team Drive.

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. On the left, click Team Drives.
  3. At the top left, click New.
  4. Enter a name for the Team Drive.
  5. Click Create.

 

Types of access levels

To give others access to your team drive click “+Add members” from inside the team drive. Add the names of people in your team and choose an access level.

  • Full access: By default, people can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
  • Edit access: Edit all files and upload new files. These people can’t move or delete files.
  • Comment access: Can only comment on all files.
  • View access: Can only view all files.

More Training

See google support https://support.google.com/drive/answer/7286514 or use the GSuite Training icon in your WCCS Google Drive to get more info about Team Drives.

Google also has further professional learning opportunities available for the Google tools and their application to the classroom through the Google Certified Educator program.